If you’re worried about what will happen to your mounds of digital data when you pass away, Google has just announced a feature for keeping said libraries secure. The outfit’s Inactive Account Manager allows users to set time out periods of three, six, nine or 12 months for inactivity before deleting all of the stored files or having them handed over to a family member or “trusted contact.” Those still left roaming the Earth can be granted access to Blogger, Drive, Gmail, Google+ and more without an application process, or they can simply be notified of the situation. Before any predetermined action is taken, the system will beam out a text and an email — so if you’re still around, you can halt matters from progressing further. Set up that digital will via the source links below and or by accessing the Google Account settings page.
Originally posted at engadget by: Billy Steele